1. The Government of India has extended the ESI Scheme to all the 26 Districts in Karnataka with effect from 1.5.2016. Heither to the ESI Act was applicable to the industrial and commercial clusters notified from time to time. From 1st May 2016 ESI Scheme will cover the entire District. Hence, it is obligatory for all the coverable establishments to register under the ESI Act, obtain code number and cover the eligible employees under the ESI Scheme.
  2. In Karnataka all the Factories and Establishments employing 10 and above persons are covered. Further, in such establishments the employees who are getting salary upto Rs.15,000/- are covered under the ESI Scheme. It is obligatory for the employers to register within 15 days. For registration and details, contact or call Toll Free Number 1800-425-0636.
  3. The Act has come into force in the following areas in the State of Karnataka w.e.f. 1.5.2016:-
Sl.No. Name of the District/Areas
1 Bagalkot
2 Bellary
3 Belagavi
4 Bengaluru Rural
5 Bengaluru Urban
6 Chamarajanagara
7 Chitradurga
8 Dakshina Kannada
9 Davanagere
10 Dharwad
11 Gadag
12 Hassan
13 Haveri
14 Kalaburgi
15 Kolar
16 Koppal
17 Mandya
18 Mysore
19 Raichur
20 Ramanagara
21 Shivamogga
22 Tumakuru
23 Udupi
24 Uttara Kannada
25 Vijayapura
26 Yadgir